Time to Move On

It’s time for me to move to new challenges.

I joined Sun over 20 years ago; since then I’ve worked on many projects, enjoyed Sun’s culture and had a blast during the GlassFish years. The interregnum between the IBM rumor, the Oracle announcement and the Change in Control was way too long, but by February we started integrating the team and the products into Oracle.

In the last 9 months we have announced the GlassFish roadmap, released GlassFish 3.0.1, multiple GlassFish Commercial Patches and multiple 3.1 milestones, moved the GlassFish wiki to a new home and GlassFish.org to a new infrastructure, presented at JavaOne and Oracle OpenWorld and many other conferences, and started talking about GlassFish 3.2 and JavaEE 7.

I am very happy that we have maintained our core principles during the transition: transparency, communication, open source, great community support and production-ready deliverables. Extra thanks to AdamL, SteveH, MikeL, JustinK and many other “Oracle Classic” folks in helping the “Sun Legacy” GlassFish folks settle down.

Have fun, and take good care of GlassFish! And stay in touch; you can reach me at my personal email, or track me via @pelegri or pelegri.wordpress.com.

46 Responses to “Time to Move On”

  1. Tweets that mention Time to Move On « Castellers v2 -- Topsy.com Says:

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by pelegri and pelegri, Johan Vos. Johan Vos said: Eduardo has a big role in making Glassfish a great open-source community and product . Thanks @pelegri ! http://is.gd/hWthk [...]

  2. Onno Says:

    What happens next? Where are you going?

  3. Sacha Says:

    Congrats for all of your high quality work. As an ex-JBoss guy, I am very happy to see you go ;)

    Good luck,

    sacha

    • pelegri Says:

      I’ll take as a compliment, although the GlassFish team has many great guys.
      Competition is good – I think GF 3.1 is in very strong position w/ JBoss 6; we will see how GF 3.2 & JBoss 7 compare.

  4. Harpreet Says:

    All the best Eduardo! Have fun in the new place.
    – Harpreet

  5. LenZ Says:

    Sad news for the GlassFish community, you will be missed! Keep up the good work and all the best for your future venture. I am sure our paths will cross again :) Cheers!

  6. Abraham Otero Says:

    Good luck, Eduardo. Although it makes me very sad that you and many others have not felt comfortable in Oracle and you have decided to leave. Kt makes me not trust (even less) Oracle.

    • pelegri Says:

      Thanks for the good wishes, Abraham.
      It’s not as much not “feeling comfortable at Oracle” but rather a career choice. I looked at what I’m best at, at what I want to do, and at how Oracle operates and decided there were better fits for me elsewhere.
      GlassFish remains a key, strategic, piece in Oracle’s middleware stack, which is the base for most of Oracle’s revenue.

  7. Richard C. Says:

    Thank you for all your work making The Aquarium a valuable hub for finding informative resources in the GlassFish ecosystem. I hope someone will continue the tradition. Good luck with your next endeavor!

    • pelegri Says:

      I believe Oracle has already identified who will replace me at TheAquarium, but I’ll let them announce it.
      Thanks to you for your kind words! I’m looking forward to my new job(s)

      – eduardo

  8. Justin Kestelyn Says:

    Our loss, your next gig’s gain. Keep it real, I know you will.

  9. jmarranz Says:

    Good luck with your new venture.

    Someone will be lucky receiving one of the smartest engineers of software industry.

  10. Adam Bien Says:

    I wish you all the best! Thank you for your passion and especially incredible high quality information Aquarium output. Great Work! Thanks!

  11. Abhijit Kumar Says:

    Thank you for guiding us through the first 5-6 years of GlassFish. I will miss your advice. All the best for your next gig.

  12. Kevin Farnham Says:

    Eduardo, whatever you are doing next, I hope and expect that I’ll still be featuring your analysis and commentary on Java-related topics on the front page of java.net. I’ll be following you on this blog and twitter. Good luck, friend!

  13. Nazrul Says:

    It was a pleasure working with you Eduardo! I will miss your advice. Have fun at the new place.


    Nazrul

  14. David Bonilla Says:

    Eduardo, It was a pleasure to met you in the last javaone. You were, not only one of the few hispanic Oracle top-level engineers but also an accesible and open interface for the Community.

    I’m excited about what are you going to start the next December 6th. I will stay tuned… :)

    Good Luck and best wishes from Spain,
    David

    • pelegri Says:

      Hola, david. It was also nice to meet you!

      I’ll continue to be involved in community activities, so hopefully we will have more opportunities to work together in the future.

  15. Frans Thamura Says:

    hope u have a new better career then, miss ur reply then in Java champion mailing list.

    greeting from Java island by a Javaman :)

    Frans

  16. pelegri Says:

    Some links to keep

    From Markus:
    GlassFish-Projektleiter verlässt Oracle/Sun

    From JavaHispano:
    Eduardo Pelegri ha abandonado Oracle

  17. Steve Harris Says:

    Thanks for your wisdom and guidance getting GlassFish embedded properly within Oracle, but more importantly in helping us continue and build on the open source community strength it has brought to Oracle. We have learned a lot, but we still have a lot to learn! We will take good care of the Aquarium :-). Looking forward to crossing paths in the future.

    • pelegri Says:

      And thanks to you for being so welcoming to GlassFish (and to me) at Oracle. Not just with the usual resourcing and orgchart actions, but also in helping us navigate the new corporate culture. Please do stay in touch!

  18. Cay Horstmann Says:

    Thanks for the wonderful work you did with GlassFish, and best of luck with your new venture!

  19. Craig McClanahan Says:

    Good luck in your future … and thanks for being instrumental in getting me in to the Sun culture in the first place :-). It was fun while it lasted.

    • pelegri Says:

      Thanks, Craig. And thanks to you for all you did at Sun.
      Stay in touch; we might be able to work together in my new job.

  20. Mark Herring Says:

    Eduardo, good luck with your new endeavor. I am sure you will bring the same focus and energy to your new gig. It was great working with you at Sun.

    • pelegri Says:

      It was fun to work w/ you. I heard you are now in a new line of business? Ping me by email, would love to catch up.

  21. Andi Egloff Says:

    Eduardo, I wish you all the best. Thanks for all your help over the years :).

  22. Tom Says:

    Hey Eduardo,

    Sorry for the late entry. Thanks for all you did for all of us who were part of the GlassFish effort at Sun and later Oracle. RIM is getting a real GEM. All the best to you!!

    Tom

  23. Frank Kieviet Says:

    Best of luck, Eduardo! It has been a great pleasure working with you! I hope your new company will be fun!

    Frank

  24. 2010 in review « Castellers v2 Says:

    [...] Time to Move On November 2010 45 comments 3 [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

